VC 21461 (a) is unlawful for a driver of a vehicle to fail to obey a sign or signal defined as regulatory in the federal Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices, or a Department of Transportation approved supplement to that manual of a regulatory nature erected or maintained to enhance traffic safety and operations or to indicate and carry out the provisions of this code or a local traffic ordinance or resolution adopted pursuant to a local traffic ordinance, or to fail to obey a device erected or maintained by lawful authority of a public body or official.
Failure to obey signs/signals for violating California Vehicle Code 21461 (a) VC are common tickets issued by the California Highway Patrol (CHP), as well as local police and sheriffs. These are good tickets to fight and our attorneys have many ways of beating these.
The fine amount for these tickets is $238.00
In California VC 21461 (a) carries one DMV point which stays on your driving record for 3 years. Each DMV point costs approximately $750 in increased insurance premiums over 3 years plus the cost of the fine amount.
The total cost if you just pay your ticket for VC 21461 (a) could be $988 or more.
This is why you should NOT simply pay the fine for VC 21461 (a) and plead guilty.