VC 16028 (a) Upon the demand of a peace officer pursuant to subdivision (b) or upon the demand of a peace officer or traffic collision investigator pursuant to subdivision (c), every person who drives a motor vehicle upon a highway shall provide evidence of financial responsibility for the vehicle that is in effect at the time the demand is made. The evidence of financial responsibility may be provided using a mobile electronic device. However, a peace officer shall not stop a vehicle for the sole purpose of determining whether the vehicle is being driven in violation of this subdivision.
Failure to provide financial responsibility (i.e. insurance) for violating California Vehicle Code 16028 (a) VC are common tickets issued by the California Highway Patrol (CHP), as well as local police and sheriffs.
The fine amount for these tickets is $900.00
In California VC 16028 (a) does not carry DMV points. This is not a moving violation. These tickets are considered “fix-it” tickets and can be fixed upon providing proof of valid insurance.
There are two ways we deal with these violations. If the driver has proof of insurance at the time of the violation, we can get that dismissed completely with a small court administration fee of $25,00. If the driver did not have insurance at the time of the violation, he/she can obtain insurance later, which we can use to negotiate the ticket fine down significantly, and sometimes even get it completely dismissed.
This is why you should NOT simply pay the fine for VC 16028 (a) and plead guilty.